Fielding a prince in Warhammer Armies project

All discussions related to games of fantasy battles such as AoS, T9A, KoW, MESBG, WAP, Warmaster, etc go here, including army construction, comp creation, campaign and scenarios design, etc...
Ramesesis

Fielding a prince in Warhammer Armies project

#1 Post by Ramesesis »

As always, the constant problem for High elves is never having enough points for characters and units.

I like to field the Loremaster since A) Loremaster must be fielded on foot B) Being a Wizard means always being able to do something even when not fighting. C) Can fight pretty well and therefore help any infantry unit to kick some ass.

In many ways the loremaster is a no-brainer if you want a fighting Lord with your infantry.

I remember that since I started playing the majority opinion has always been that princes and even commanders on foot are a waste. A prince should at least be on a horse and some say the prince is only worth it riding a dragon.

I really like the sight of a hero standing among the rank and file and sharing their danger. And having only 6 silver helms at the moment it feels wrong to put a prince or noble there since the army as a whole still move slow and will not be there to support them regardless.

My friend fields Tomb kings, Vampire counts and sometimes dwarves. He likes to field lots of core troops, preferably several units of one kind so it looks like a proper army. And while I fielded a loremaster, a level 2 mage, a noble in a lion chariot and a bsb he fielded a tomb king, two tomb princes, a bsb and two mages! He had to go with very little magical items in order to fit everything. But his king and princes gave huge benefits to his infantry units, making my elves fight against higher weaponskill thanks to My will be done!

A flying character would have been very risky since archery in WAP is murderous! Even a dragon better watch out.