Archer formations?

Discuss your tactics for the 8th Ed army book here.

Moderators: The Heralds, The Loremasters

FrasseN

Archer formations?

#1 Post by FrasseN »

Hey, I was wondering what some good formation for archers are in 8th edition. I was thinking 6 wide 3 deep maybe? Cause I dont see the point of having 20 archers 10 wide 2 deep since we have martial prowess, right? (I am new to warhammer fantasy)
John Rainbow

Re: Archer formations?

#2 Post by John Rainbow »

Making use of martial prowess and 3 ranks is a good idea but it really depends on your list, how big the units are and what you want them to do. It's tough to say in isolation what is the best size and formation of unit X to include as there are so many other factors that go into this.
Tullarion

#3 Post by Tullarion »

I like multiple units of 15 in 5x3. They are big enough that chaff can't engage them (especially with MP), but small enough that they aren't much of a loss if a combat unit destroys them. Also, they have just enough firepower to make a difference with some targets, so I can split fire (with multiple units) and have each unit's shooting count, or focus fire on something that needs everything. It's a small, manageable unit size that can fit just about anywhere.

That's not to say that larger units aren't useful, but I wouldn't go smaller. 10 elf units don't have the punch to hurt anything, can't take a hit from so much as skirmishers, and can't capitalize on MP without losing ranks. I'd say 15+, but maybe 18 or 21 to capitalize on attacks (6x3 or 7x3). But as has been stated, it matters greatly what the army composition is, and what the purpose of the archers is.
pk-ng

#4 Post by pk-ng »

John Rainbow got it right...
most of the time is X wide and 3 ranks at most but it really depends on the situation what army you versus.
ETC WHFB Team Singapore
2014 - Chaos Dwarfs & Most Favoured Enemy
2015 - High Elves & Top HE

T9A
Highborn Elves - Army Book Committee
Balancing Board