New to elves and couple of ideas

Discuss your tactics for the 8th Ed army book here.

Moderators: The Heralds, The Loremasters

Dbunibe

New to elves and couple of ideas

#1 Post by Dbunibe »

I appologize if this has been suggested or asked before ( I did a search but found nothing) but can we run the lance formation as well as or better than bretonians?

Given our ability to fight in extra ranks & jace the luxury of rerolls via ASF how well would a unit of 9 silver helms hold up on the charge if run 3x3?

Has anyone tried this? How'd it do?

As the topic says I'm new to HE though I have other armies (empire, ogres, and VC).
Stormie

Re: New to elves and couple of ideas

#2 Post by Stormie »

They'd do decently, but lack of ranks will mean you're relying on causing wounds to win combat (which is fine), and you'll be less able to break the enemy if they have even 5 models left in one rank due to being steadfast.
Worloch

#3 Post by Worloch »

Martial Prowess on our Calvary is pretty cool, and gives us some decent options but when compared against the lance formation, it comes out as not quite as good.

Lance Formation gives a few bonuses, the first of which has already been referenced: Brets can get Rank Bonuses while only 3 wide. This means they can break steadfast potentially, and helps to boost their CR.

Secondly, all the models on the sides of the formation will count as being in btb, and as such, they get their full attacks, as do their mounts.

Still, I'm not disappointed in having Martial Prowess, and a 3x3 silver helms dart isn't a terrible idea, though I wouldn't count on it to do much besides annoy and chase off chaff.
Tethlis

#4 Post by Tethlis »