On GW and D&D

Place to discuss anything related to tabletop wargaming that isn't covered by the other forums.

Moderators: The Heralds, The Loremasters

SpellArcher
Green Istari

On GW and D&D

#1 Post by SpellArcher »

Some interesting history and speculation which Kispal of this forum alerted me to, channel is Dungeoncraft:

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=Fv3bL8VBx8Y
MasterOfNone

Re: On GW and D&D

#2 Post by MasterOfNone »

SpellArcher wrote:Some interesting history and speculation which Kispal of this forum alerted me to, channel is Dungeoncraft:

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=Fv3bL8VBx8Y
Interesting.
Also a bit nostalgic, when I was a kid I played all those RPG's except D&D first edition - I started playing in 1984.
My painting blog

My WHFB armies:
High Elves
Dwarfs
Orcs and Goblins
SpellArcher
Green Istari

#3 Post by SpellArcher »

MasterOfNone wrote:Also a bit nostalgic, when I was a kid I played all those RPG's except D&D first edition - I started playing in 1984.
I'm of a similar vintage. Seems like another world when TSR were the big players.
Musashi

#4 Post by Musashi »

As Games Workshop is by now well aware, intellectual property is now almost everything.

Due to the current pandemic, and possibly due to rather an already developing trend, American production houses have discovered animation is actually easier, despite being more expensive, seeing the success of Japanese anime and manga almost completely eclipsing everything else in this field.

Hasbro is trying to monetize their intellectual properties, including a shared universe of Transformers, Gee Eye Joe, He Man, and possibly My Little Pony.

And one thing Dungeons and Dragons have, is a lot of literature, plus existing settings.
[img]http://farm2.static.flickr.com/1317/1015107388_6c67a9c5d3_o.jpg[/img]
[color=red]Surprise is an event that takes place in the mind of the enemy commander[/color]
[url=http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=rdU1F54FEOU]Crowbot_Jenny[/url]