Looking to start High Elves

Place to discuss anything related to tabletop wargaming that isn't covered by the other forums.

Moderators: The Heralds, The Loremasters

Immersturm

Looking to start High Elves

#1 Post by Immersturm »

Hey folks.

I am a long time 40k veteran and cheesemaster, and now I am looking to start Fantasy. Oddly enough, it is HE (and another army) that caught my fancy. I am a particular big fan of the White Lion aesthetic.

Now, before I move on I want you to understand something. I am a Space Wolves player through and through, and thus not a big fan of elves in any shape or form. You can see how much White Lions made an impact on me that I am not only considering to start a gaming system I though I would never ever play, but I am also considering to play elves.
Well, it is not that I dislike elves. It is much like the Asian culture. I do not get it and thus I am not very invested into it.

But who is to say that I can not get into it ;)

Anyway. I am not looking for advice on what to get and the usual stuff. I know what my 2k-2.5k list will look like.
What I am more looking for is of aesthetic and cultural nature.
As mentioned, I like the WL looks, so I wanted to make my army look like woodsmen. Pelts, hunting bows and spears and I would be looking into red, green, yellow and brown tones when painting.
Any other hints you could give me here? (No, I would not like to play Wood Elves, HE will do just fine)
Maybe depict them as a hunting party far on the border of Ulthuan or even outside, roaming the forests, mountains and seas to hunt down Chaos and Undeath, where ever it may lurk.

Since I am a SW player and a massive fan of nordic/germanic mythology and folklore, I wouldn't mind giving my HE that touch. I value heroism, individuality and strength. I do not see it into HE, not as much as I would like anyway. Since some of you know your HE better than I do, maybe you know some examples that could steer me into the right direction?