Ulthuan

Ulthuan, Home of the Asur
It is currently Tue Oct 16, 2018 4:18 pm

All times are UTC




Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 21 posts ] 
Author Message
PostPosted: Wed Mar 02, 2016 12:31 pm 
Offline

Joined: Mon Aug 24, 2015 7:44 pm
Posts: 48
Location: Uruguay
Hello dear elves fellows. Me and my friends still play 8ed becouse we dont like the 9 edition so far.
But, some rules are still a mistery for us. Sometimes the rulebook doesnt explain them completly, and sometimes we have diferent
interpretations of them. Maybe some of you can help me or we can discuss them here.

    *In previous editions, in the compulsory moves phase, if you had a unit at 6'' of a fleeing ally unit, you had to make a panic check, is this rule still existing? becouse I cant find it on the manual so I asume it doesnt anymore.

    *If a mounted hero on horse joins a unit of fast cavalry, does the unit lose that rule too?

    *Can a mage in combat, cast a direct damage spell (not magic missles) to a enemy unit outside of combat?

    *And last, when a unit declares a flee as a reaction of a charge, and the charging unit wants to do a redirection, is the redirection declared before of after the flee movement (this may change line of sight or others things)

Hope we can get to the answers, and I will probably come back with more of this questions!


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
PostPosted: Wed Mar 02, 2016 12:58 pm 
Offline
Green Istari

Joined: Sat Sep 13, 2008 11:26 am
Posts: 12204
Location: Otherworld
Hi Joaco, questions welcome!

Joaco wrote:
*In previous editions, in the compulsory moves phase, if you had a unit at 6'' of a fleeing ally unit, you had to make a panic check, is this rule still existing? becouse I cant find it on the manual so I asume it doesnt anymore.

It does not exist.

Joaco wrote:
*If a mounted hero on horse joins a unit of fast cavalry, does the unit lose that rule too?

Yes, unless the hero also comes with the Fast Cavalry rule (Dark Elves and Wood Elves mostly). See pg 68.

Joaco wrote:
*Can a mage in combat, cast a direct damage spell (not magic missles) to a enemy unit outside of combat?

Yes. The mage being in combat himself is not listed as preventing casting a Direct Damage spell. Pg 31.

Joaco wrote:
*And last, when a unit declares a flee as a reaction of a charge, and the charging unit wants to do a redirection, is the redirection declared before of after the flee movement (this may change line of sight or others things)

After. The flight is immediate. Pg 17.

_________________
A New Blog (Orcs and Goblins)
viewtopic.php?f=5&t=70550
Cavalry Prince Reloaded
viewtopic.php?f=80&t=70001


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
PostPosted: Wed Mar 02, 2016 1:12 pm 
Offline
Auctor Aeternitatum
User avatar

Joined: Wed Apr 22, 2009 1:07 pm
Posts: 6831
Location: The city of Spires
SpellArcher is correct in his answers.

Feel free to ask any other rules questions you have. Also, we have a fairly extensive collection of rules discussions in our Rules Questions subforum (access can also be found at the top of this forum).

We have discussed a lot of things in there. For many questions we have an answer, but some things still remain unclear.

Rod

_________________
Eirik wrote:
Please try to remember that, no matter how 'official' the source seems, rumours are basically just a dictionary combined with a random number generator

For Nagarythe: Come to the dark side.
PS: Bring cookies!

Check out my plog
Painting progress, done/in progress/in box: 167/33/91


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
PostPosted: Wed Mar 02, 2016 6:15 pm 
Offline

Joined: Mon Aug 24, 2015 7:44 pm
Posts: 48
Location: Uruguay
Wow this was fast! I was waiting those to be the answers but wanted to be sure and dont leave any room to miss interpretation.

Thank you very much guys!


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
PostPosted: Wed Mar 02, 2016 7:31 pm 
Offline
Green Istari

Joined: Sat Sep 13, 2008 11:26 am
Posts: 12204
Location: Otherworld
You're welcome Joaco!

:)

_________________
A New Blog (Orcs and Goblins)
viewtopic.php?f=5&t=70550
Cavalry Prince Reloaded
viewtopic.php?f=80&t=70001


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
PostPosted: Sun Mar 06, 2016 3:02 pm 
Offline

Joined: Mon Aug 24, 2015 7:44 pm
Posts: 48
Location: Uruguay
New one!

Skirmishers, now they can´t march in every direction right? Now they have a front arc, so I guess that if they want to move backwards or to the sides, its the half of the movement?


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
PostPosted: Sun Mar 06, 2016 3:28 pm 
Offline

Joined: Sun Mar 06, 2016 3:15 pm
Posts: 2
Joaco wrote:
New one!

Skirmishers, now they can´t march in every direction right? Now they have a front arc, so I guess that if they want to move backwards or to the sides, its the half of the movement?


Page 77, Free Reform

Unless it charges, a unit of skirmishers is allowed to reform as many times as the player wants during the movement phase using the normal rules for reforming. This means that skirmishers can pivot on the spot like lone models and change their formation to move around obstacles. So instead of wheeling or moving backwards or sideways, skirmishers can simply turn to face whatever direction they want, move in a straight line, turn again and keep moving with no penalty.
The same goes for models with the Fast Cavalry rule.


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
PostPosted: Sun Mar 06, 2016 4:18 pm 
Offline
User avatar

Joined: Thu Jan 14, 2016 8:31 pm
Posts: 128
Location: Warsaw, Poland
They can make free reforms, so you can reform, move, reform etc. A reform allows you to face any direction.


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
PostPosted: Wed Mar 09, 2016 3:41 pm 
Offline

Joined: Mon Aug 24, 2015 7:44 pm
Posts: 48
Location: Uruguay
Hey thanks! And here I have more!

Gyrocopters: can they march and shoot their steam guns?
Can they shoot them every turn?

Breath weapons: how do you resolve the breath on a challenge?
It goes to the model in the duel or the whole unit?

Fast cavalry: it can only move as normal if rallies after a flee reaction? Not a flee from panic test or break? And only move, not march right?

More I read the rulebook, more questions I have! Haha


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
PostPosted: Wed Mar 09, 2016 10:53 pm 
Offline
Green Istari

Joined: Sat Sep 13, 2008 11:26 am
Posts: 12204
Location: Otherworld
Joaco wrote:
Gyrocopters: can they march and shoot their steam guns?

No. Default for shooters is no, Dwarf book pg 50 does not list an exemption.

Joaco wrote:
Can they shoot them every turn?

Yes, unless they Dive Bomb that turn, again per pg 50.

Joaco wrote:
Breath weapons: how do you resolve the breath on a challenge?
It goes to the model in the duel or the whole unit?

The model in the duel. Rulebook FAQ pg 10.

Joaco wrote:
Fast cavalry: it can only move as normal if rallies after a flee reaction? Not a flee from panic test or break?

Correct, main rulebook pg 68.

Joaco wrote:
And only move, not march right?

It can still March. Moves as normal (pg 68), that includes Marching.

_________________
A New Blog (Orcs and Goblins)
viewtopic.php?f=5&t=70550
Cavalry Prince Reloaded
viewtopic.php?f=80&t=70001


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
PostPosted: Tue Apr 19, 2016 5:22 pm 
Offline

Joined: Mon Aug 24, 2015 7:44 pm
Posts: 48
Location: Uruguay
What about the direct damage spells, let me see if im getting it right. Your target needs to be in your front arc, but not in line of sight?

For example, firestorm (spell 6 from lore of fire) I can place the template anywhere in 30'' the front arc? Not
anywhere within 30''

And offtopic, yesterday my high elves fought 2 battles agains Dwarves and Chaos Dwarves, giving me a massacre victory in both battles. That makes like the 6th or 7th victories in a row against dwarves armies (and like the 5th with a large difference). :D kill the small ones!


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
PostPosted: Wed Apr 20, 2016 8:27 am 
Offline
Auctor Aeternitatum
User avatar

Joined: Wed Apr 22, 2009 1:07 pm
Posts: 6831
Location: The city of Spires
You're correct. Direct damage spells do not require line of sight, but the target does have to be in the front arc. So you're correct about flame storm. Anywhere within 30'' in this case means anywhere in the front arc.

There are a few FAQ entries about direct damage template spells that are useful to have as well:

Q: Do ranged direct damage spells that use a template have to target an enemy unit? (p31)
A: Yes, the template must be placed over the target enemy unit.

So, anywhere within 30'' means anywhere in the front arc in 30'' that targets an enemy unit. So you can't place it in a random location and hope it scatters onto a unit. It has to be aimed at an enemy unit.

Q: When targeting a unit with a small or large round template, must the whole template be within the maximum range of the spell? (p31)
A: No, the hole in the centre of the template must be within range.

Q: Does the ‘Look Out Sir’ special rule apply against all spells that use templates? (p93)
A: Yes.

Congrats on the wins vs the short ones. Dwarves can be a tough opponent for HE.

Rod

_________________
Eirik wrote:
Please try to remember that, no matter how 'official' the source seems, rumours are basically just a dictionary combined with a random number generator

For Nagarythe: Come to the dark side.
PS: Bring cookies!

Check out my plog
Painting progress, done/in progress/in box: 167/33/91


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
PostPosted: Wed Apr 20, 2016 8:13 pm 
Offline

Joined: Mon Aug 24, 2015 7:44 pm
Posts: 48
Location: Uruguay
Awesome! Thanks Rod! Thats what I love about warhammer, you never stop learning :P


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
PostPosted: Sat Mar 18, 2017 8:51 pm 
Offline

Joined: Mon Aug 24, 2015 7:44 pm
Posts: 48
Location: Uruguay
Hi! After some time I came back to playing warhammer (still 8th, Im not so sure about 9th age yet).
And It doesnt matter for how long I've beeing playing warhammer, lots of rules still generate some confusion.
I've never played in some oficial tournaments (there are none in my little country) so this makes it difficult to know some stuff.

First thing, Line of sight still confuses me, the book says that you have to draw a line between the head of the model and your target, but models can get this difficult. Large targets for example, can you see them behind normal units? Do they have line of sight above the units? Becouse if you combine large target and fly, for example, can the frostheart charge in the next situation? (as long as the base fits in the gap)

Image
https://drive.google.com/file/d/0B4eeDXyGFXSXTVRWRmNXZEhKWlE/view?usp=sharing


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
PostPosted: Sun Mar 19, 2017 12:39 pm 
Offline
Green Istari

Joined: Sat Sep 13, 2008 11:26 am
Posts: 12204
Location: Otherworld
Hi Joaco!

So long as the Phoenix can see the target from his model's-eye view, he can charge over the intervening unit.

_________________
A New Blog (Orcs and Goblins)
viewtopic.php?f=5&t=70550
Cavalry Prince Reloaded
viewtopic.php?f=80&t=70001


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
PostPosted: Mon Mar 20, 2017 7:57 am 
Offline
Auctor Aeternitatum
User avatar

Joined: Wed Apr 22, 2009 1:07 pm
Posts: 6831
Location: The city of Spires
In general in 8th edition it is easiest to assume everything can see everything else, unless there is a very specific reason they can't. True line of sight (which is what 8th ed. uses) is exactly that. What the physical model can see is what he sees. It leads to some silly situations sometimes (like a taller version of the same model being able to see more). But it gives fewer discussions I find.

And for the situation you posted, yes the phoenix can charge over the unit in between.

Rod

_________________
Eirik wrote:
Please try to remember that, no matter how 'official' the source seems, rumours are basically just a dictionary combined with a random number generator

For Nagarythe: Come to the dark side.
PS: Bring cookies!

Check out my plog
Painting progress, done/in progress/in box: 167/33/91


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
PostPosted: Sat May 06, 2017 12:02 am 
Offline

Joined: Mon Aug 24, 2015 7:44 pm
Posts: 48
Location: Uruguay
Ok next one, lets think that I have a life mage, and he cast throne of vines, and then flesh to stone, there the toughness would be at +4. In my oponent next turn, he dispels the throne with hes dices: does the flesh to stone goes to +2? or it stays at +4 becouse throne of vines was active when casted?

My thoughts are that it becomes a +2 T but...you never know


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
PostPosted: Sat May 06, 2017 8:14 am 
Offline
User avatar

Joined: Mon Jan 31, 2005 9:22 pm
Posts: 2529
Location: Warsaw, Poland
I'd say it stays at +4 - its the castings that are affected and those have already taken place. The fact that it doesn't affect spells already in play supports this.

_________________
cheers, Lee

Elven Field Surgeon, Department of Intensive Care, Resuscitation and Necromancy


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
PostPosted: Sat May 06, 2017 11:37 am 
Offline
Green Istari

Joined: Sat Sep 13, 2008 11:26 am
Posts: 12204
Location: Otherworld
RE.Lee wrote:
I'd say it stays at +4

Explicitly confirmed in rulebook FAQ, pg 12.

_________________
A New Blog (Orcs and Goblins)
viewtopic.php?f=5&t=70550
Cavalry Prince Reloaded
viewtopic.php?f=80&t=70001


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
PostPosted: Mon May 15, 2017 12:08 am 
Offline

Joined: Mon Aug 24, 2015 7:44 pm
Posts: 48
Location: Uruguay
Ok thanks guys! I want you to know that you are really helping me and my comunity without knowing! Since we dont have any oficial stuff here or competitive play, but we are getting there hopefully! For years we were only 4 warhammer players in the whole city, but know we are like 12 and starting to think on campaings and tourneys!


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
PostPosted: Mon May 15, 2017 7:50 am 
Offline
Auctor Aeternitatum
User avatar

Joined: Wed Apr 22, 2009 1:07 pm
Posts: 6831
Location: The city of Spires
Joaco wrote:
Ok thanks guys! I want you to know that you are really helping me and my comunity without knowing! Since we dont have any oficial stuff here or competitive play, but we are getting there hopefully! For years we were only 4 warhammer players in the whole city, but know we are like 12 and starting to think on campaings and tourneys!

Sounds great :) Slowly growing and getting more elaborate things going. Let us know if you get a campaign going. Personally I have no time for them (or enough regular opponents for that matter). But I love following along :)

_________________
Eirik wrote:
Please try to remember that, no matter how 'official' the source seems, rumours are basically just a dictionary combined with a random number generator

For Nagarythe: Come to the dark side.
PS: Bring cookies!

Check out my plog
Painting progress, done/in progress/in box: 167/33/91


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 21 posts ] 

All times are UTC


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum

Search for:
Jump to:  
cron
Powered by phpBB® Forum Software © phpBB Group