2000 pts list for a small tournament

All discussions related to Warhammer Fantasy Battles from 1st to 8th edition go here, including army construction, comp creation, campaign and scenarios design, etc...
swordofglass

2000 pts list for a small tournament

#1 Post by swordofglass »

Hi,

I'm very new to high elves and I wonder if anyone has any thoughts about this list?

2000 pts

Anointed: Frostheart Phoenix, Giant Blade, Khaine's Ring of Fury, Enchanted Shield, Golden Crown of Altrazar
Archmage : Book of Hoeth, Talisman of Endurance, Elven Steed

Noble: BSB, barded steed, lance, shield, BotWD

15 Silver Helms: Shields, FC
5 Silver Helms: Shields, banner

5 Dragon Princes: banner

Bolt Thrower
Flamespyre Phoenix

I felt like taking a block of infantry would go against the feel of the list. I couldn't afford to take another Noble for the SH bus unfortunately.
I know Flamespyre Phoenixes are not as good as Frosthearts but 1) I don't want to be 'that guy' who takes 2 Frosthearts and b) I have the model. But I'm unsure whether it would be better to mount the Anointed on the Flamespyre (for resurrection shenanigans) or the Frostheart.
Not sure whether 15 SH and BSB is too weak without a second Noble?
I don't want to make a ridiculously broken list but I'm not a particularly skilled tactician so I'd like something reasonably strong to compete in the tournament. It's only a friendly small tournament and I don't want to just 'play to win' so I felt this list (no star dragon, no 4x BTs, a Flamespyre) might be good but not too overpowered.
Any thoughts?
Ladril Caledor

Re: 2000 pts list for a small tournament

#2 Post by Ladril Caledor »

One thing is your Silver Helm bus comes in at 17 models with characters, which is a bit of an awkward size. 15 would be better. Dropping those two Helms also gives you points for an eagle for extra chaff.