Ulthuan

Ulthuan, Home of the Asur
It is currently Fri Dec 15, 2017 5:52 pm

All times are UTC




Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 43 posts ]  Go to page Previous  1, 2
Author Message
PostPosted: Thu Feb 23, 2012 12:21 pm 
Offline

Joined: Thu Sep 01, 2011 4:19 pm
Posts: 599
Cheers Curu will try it out on my next report :)

_________________
New Blog - Warlock of the Black Tower(8th Edition)
Ogre Blog - The Manglegut Tribe

Caradryal's Host (HE) W 1 D 0 L 1
The Manglegut Tribe (Ogres) W 3 D0 L2


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
PostPosted: Mon Feb 27, 2012 3:00 am 
Offline

Joined: Thu Oct 06, 2011 11:11 pm
Posts: 38
Hey guys,

I'm working through my first batrep through Battle Chronicler, but when I go to the next turn, all of the units disappear, and I have to reposition every single one all over again. Is this the way it is supposed to happen? I would think that when you go to player B's next turn, that it would copy the previous Player A turn, so all you have to move is player B's units.

Is there something I'm missing? :?:

Edit: Nevermind, I found the FAQ on the Battle Chronicler website:

When you change to the next turn Battle Chronicler makes a copy of the previous turn, so each one builds on the previous one. However it won't do this if you have already 'opened' the next turn. The problem comes is if you initially move through all the turns then it will make copies of a blank turn. If you then go back and do things in an earlier turn then these will not be copied into the future turns. Thats why Battle Chronicler puts up a warning dialog if you change turns without moving anything.

If this happens you can "Game->Reset Current Turn" or "Game->Reset Current Turn And Later Turn" options to set the current turn to the same as the previous turn.


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
PostPosted: Thu Mar 08, 2012 6:44 am 
Offline

Joined: Thu Feb 23, 2012 12:13 pm
Posts: 708
Location: Saphery (Alberta, Canada)
Thanks Curu! This will be fun to play around with while at work tonight (Im a security guard in a small hospital that is almost always dead slow). I have a coming battle this monday and hope to have a full report to post this time!

Cheers!

_________________
Live and Fight with Honour, for We are the Most Noble
2012 Games - (W/L/D) 49-1-0
Image
Lord Whitestar's Leviathan Company Champion.
Blog
Facebook for Talifan
Aicanor wrote:
Yes, Sapherian princes are an evil bunch.


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
PostPosted: Thu Mar 08, 2012 9:08 am 
Offline

Joined: Thu Feb 23, 2012 12:13 pm
Posts: 708
Location: Saphery (Alberta, Canada)
I am getting a little frustrated as after I have deployed the forces where they were on the table, once I click next turn to start the turns, both armies are lined up in a straight line directly opposite each other with the units in the wrong locations...

Is there anyway to solve this at all?

_________________
Live and Fight with Honour, for We are the Most Noble
2012 Games - (W/L/D) 49-1-0
Image
Lord Whitestar's Leviathan Company Champion.
Blog
Facebook for Talifan
Aicanor wrote:
Yes, Sapherian princes are an evil bunch.


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
PostPosted: Wed Apr 18, 2012 12:56 pm 
Offline

Joined: Sun Mar 25, 2012 3:59 pm
Posts: 21
Hi there,

Just a quick question before I take this up with the developer of the product. Does anyone suffer from the same problem I have? I download the latest version, have .NET version 4.0 installed, and when opening the menu that tells you where to install the program, it crashes windows installer...


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
PostPosted: Sat Jun 23, 2012 2:47 pm 
Offline

Joined: Thu Jun 21, 2012 4:33 pm
Posts: 87
Location: Chrace. Or Stockholm, Sweden.
Bit confused here, I clicked the download link on the website, but my browser keeps asking me what application to run the link in, calling it an "mf link"... I've never seen or heard of such a link before, any clue what to do before I do hours of digging?
Was really psyched to get some battle reports going, I play almost every other day, sometimes every day, would be great to get some up here.

EDIT: Scratch that, used a different browser. Mozilla failed me :(
I'll be sure to get some reports up soon, but I can't promise they will all involve elves, I play a lot of races ^^

_________________
Demigryphs shouldn't exist.
I try to paint. viewtopic.php?f=5&t=40152


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
PostPosted: Wed Aug 22, 2012 9:16 pm 
Offline

Joined: Sun Feb 13, 2011 6:38 pm
Posts: 165
Bolt Thrower wrote:
Battle Chronicler users, I'm struggling making a unit appear as skirmishers. When I click the formation view icons in the top right it shows the individual models of every unit which is not what I want. Any suggestions so I can make 2 units of chameleon skinks? Thanks!


Have the same problem, the "Loose Formation" box is checked but the unit still comes out of the box as a normal unit. Any suggestions?


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
PostPosted: Thu Aug 23, 2012 8:05 am 
Offline
Well played Sir
User avatar

Joined: Fri Dec 10, 2010 1:46 pm
Posts: 7777
Location: Queensland, Australia
Set it so it shows individual members on the unit, then it'll show up as 'loose'

_________________
Lord Elessehta Silverbough of Ar Yvrellion, Ruler of Athel Anarhain, Prince of the Yvressi.
Beastly member of The Mage Knight Guild.
Narrin’Tim wrote:
These may be the last days of the Asur, but if we are to leave this world let us do it as the heroes of old, sword raised against evil!


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
PostPosted: Thu Aug 23, 2012 7:13 pm 
Offline

Joined: Sun Feb 13, 2011 6:38 pm
Posts: 165
Elessehta of Yvresse wrote:
Set it so it shows individual members on the unit, then it'll show up as 'loose'


Got it, thanks much Elessehta.


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
PostPosted: Sun May 12, 2013 11:59 pm 
Offline

Joined: Sun May 08, 2011 9:14 am
Posts: 2099
I suppose this might be a good place to ask. When I set up my deployment, and then move to the next turn, there are all these white movement arrows on all my units. They remain even in later turns. I'm not really sure how the movement arrows work, so I just turned them off, which is too bad because they have obvious uses if I could use them properly. Is there any trick to use them, or any way to delete/reset the movement arrows for specific units?

_________________
Ah, Floorhammer. A time honored tradition. Sadly, I no longer play since my brother tripped and right-angled the spears of a 15-man regiment.
-Original Dragon Prince, July 2011


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
PostPosted: Thu Nov 20, 2014 4:40 pm 
Offline

Joined: Thu Nov 20, 2014 4:36 pm
Posts: 2
Sorry for the necroposting, couldnt find a better place for this.

I had the same problem as the last poster, when I reset my current turn white movement arrows appeared for all my units, as if they all moved from a point of the board on the far left side (my units were on the right). I solved this by resetting every single unit (which cleared the movement arrow) and then moving it afterwards, but it took up quite some time and was very annoying...

Also, I'm having trouble with these:

- Unit is charged and broken in combat, it fled and got caught (or the unit restrained and reformed). How should I show this on the diagram? The final positions of units, or the position where the battle was fought?
- Failed charge (combined with the above). If using the red charge arrow, did the charge fail, or did something break from combat and disappeared (ran off board, crumbled or whatever)
- Vanguard moves. The gray arrows are just plain ugly and don't show up well the movement of the units

Did anyone find an acceptable solutions for these situations?


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
PostPosted: Fri Nov 21, 2014 7:55 am 
Offline

Joined: Thu Jul 26, 2012 7:33 am
Posts: 348
Location: Looking for a lost Asur expedition somewhere in the Old World
Hello. Not at my Chronicler, but I believe there arrows problem can be solved by resetting the current turn. Its in one of the commands in the top left menus.

Chronicle reports should always go with some description that will clarify the graphs. Saying something like "I charged the remaining archers with my DPs, who chose to flee and rolled so high, that they ran off the board".

I always show the final position for the units with the destroyed unit placed where it fought the CC it lost and in the unit options I mark it as "destroyed" which will grey it out but not remove it completely.

Failed charge is easy - just charge-move the unit with red arrow to its final position. If it is not in contact with enemy, the charge obviously failed.

Vanguard moves - we have to live with it I think. :-)

_________________
My personal PLOG
Lost Asur Expedition - army blog
Quote:
"Well, hey, I didn't spend all those years playing Dungeons and Dragons and not learn a little something about courage."
- X-files, ep. Jose Chung's From Outer Space, Faulkner


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
PostPosted: Sat Nov 22, 2014 10:08 am 
Offline

Joined: Thu Nov 20, 2014 4:36 pm
Posts: 2
Hi Aurynn,

Thanks for the quick response.
In the meantime, I think I have found a solution for the vanguard moves. I have introduced a "Turn 0" where the vanguards will be done for both armies (with white arrows). This has the added benefit of displaying all of the phases: Deployment, vanguard moves and final positions. I would even dare to add a number of turns that depends on the number of alternating vanguards, to accommodate for the "vanguard battle" where players try to outsmart one another by blocking opponents' vanguards with his own.

As for the "phantom" white arrows, they appeared after resetting the current turn, and the subsequent resets couldn't help a thing. The only solution that worked for me was to reset each unit individually.

I also had doubts about the following: Unit A charging, B holding, breaking and fleeing and A pursuing, catching and destroying, all needing to be depicted at the same time. Swordmaster helped me here (among other things) with advice to leave both units in combat positions, mark the fleeing distance, and then move both units to their final positions in the opponents turn.

Thanks again guys :)


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 43 posts ]  Go to page Previous  1, 2

All times are UTC


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 2 guests


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum

Search for:
Jump to:  
cron
Powered by phpBB® Forum Software © phpBB Group