Request for IT Advice Ahead of Black Friday

Anything worth sharing with us but not gaming related goes in here.

Moderators: The Heralds, The Loremasters

Andrew_uk

Request for IT Advice Ahead of Black Friday

#1 Post by Andrew_uk »

I feel a bit foolish asking this, I'm still a 20 something with a techy job (I work as a business analyst) and for my work I know some very techy stuff about PC software, databases and applications. But I know next to nothing about PC hardware mainly because outside of work I tend to not have high end demands from my tech (I don't do video gaming/PC gaming etc).

Essentially after 4 1/2 years of loyal service my laptop is dying. The battery life has reduced to 5 minutes, the fan hardly works meaning it gets red hot and the charging cable has started only working intermittently. I may be quieter online as a result over the next 4 weeks or so. However, with Black Friday being next month I thought about getting a replacement :D

Here's a list of the main tasks I use my laptop for;
  1. Boardgaming (Boardgame Arena, Yucata... etc) - tend not to have high graphics requirements
  2. Social Media (Facebook, OK Cupid... etc)
  3. Forums (Here, Boardgamegeek... etc)
  4. Skype (rarely)
  5. Netflix, iPlayer, ITV Player, 4OD, Spotify...
  6. DVDs
  7. Online Shopping...
  8. Other Internet...
  9. CV Writing/Job Applications (very likely I'll have to go through that process again next year)
  10. Letter writing
  11. Excel/Power BI fun (Power Query, Power Pivot, Power View, Power Maps) - sometimes I just like to learn new stuff for work
  12. Storing and organising music
  13. Storing and organising photos
  14. Sometimes downloading Torrents (obviously only if I can't source a specific bit of media through any of the more desirable channels)
Personal choices;
  1. I'd like it to be fast (from a technical point of view fast enough to comfortably run Microsoft Power BI products)