Ulthuan

Ulthuan, Home of the Asur
It is currently Mon Jul 22, 2019 11:56 am

All times are UTC




Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 5 posts ] 
Author Message
PostPosted: Wed Aug 05, 2015 1:12 pm 
Offline

Joined: Sun Oct 07, 2012 9:56 pm
Posts: 101
Location: Munich, Germany
Just like the title suggests, what happens if a poor LM miscasts and loses a couple of wizard levels?
Let's assume he loses 2 levels or more - is he now a wizard with 6 spells left to cast, albeit without any bonuses
for doing so or is he reduced to being an expensive combat dude of questionable ability?

Sorry, if this has been asked a billion times before, but I couldn't find any info on it to my surprise...

As for asking other players face to face, I've heard both answers - one coming from a TO telling me that a power
drained LM can still cast his other spells, reassuring me that's exactly why he seen so many people taking him.
An opponent of mine with a lot of experience told me tho, that a wizard without any levels can't cast jack...

What do you think, guys, and how have you seen it ruled?
Thanks in advance,
teep


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
PostPosted: Wed Aug 05, 2015 1:39 pm 
Offline
Auctor Aeternitatum
User avatar

Joined: Wed Apr 22, 2009 1:07 pm
Posts: 7136
Location: The city of Spires
This was solved by the FAQ of the BRB before GW took them down:

Quote:
Q: What happens if a Wizard loses one or more Wizard levels? (p28)
A: Whenever a Wizard loses one or more Wizard levels, he instantly forgets a single spell for each Wizard level lost, chosen at random from those he knows.

Quote:
Q: If a model with the Loremaster special rule suffers a Power Drain result from the Miscast table, do they lose spells as normal? (p72)
A: Yes.

Quote:
Q: If a Wizard has had his level reduced to 0 does he still counts as a Wizard and can he still attempt to channel Power and Dispel dice? (p28)
A: Yes.

Quote:
Q: If a Wizard has had his level reduced to 0 and he still knows one or more spells, can he attempt to cast them? (p31)
A: No.

I think these are all the relevant entries from the FAQ:
- the loremaster can lose wizard levels (as other mages). When he does so he loses spells (as laid out in power drain). If his level reaches 0 then he can no longer cast spells, even if he still knows some spells. However, he can still attempt to channel PD and DD.

Rod

_________________
Eirik wrote:
Please try to remember that, no matter how 'official' the source seems, rumours are basically just a dictionary combined with a random number generator

For Nagarythe: Come to the dark side.
PS: Bring cookies!

Check out my plog
Painting progress, done/in progress/in box: 167/33/91


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
PostPosted: Thu Aug 06, 2015 2:34 am 
Offline

Joined: Sun Oct 07, 2012 9:56 pm
Posts: 101
Location: Munich, Germany
Ah, thanks! I know quotes 1 and 3 and always thought that quote 3 refers to the loremaster rule
as in 'I'm a slaan-teclis-know-it-all', not so much to the HE character.

Still, quote 4 makes it pretty clear..I'm really glad that I've stuck to the habit of interpreting rules to
my 'disadvantage' when in doubt - it's often best :)

Thanks, dude


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
PostPosted: Thu Aug 06, 2015 4:20 pm 
Offline

Joined: Wed Apr 30, 2014 10:10 pm
Posts: 35
He can still channel dice but can't cast spells. With that in mind, can he still dispel?
Would be nice to be able to use Book of Hoeth even when something like this happens.


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
PostPosted: Thu Aug 06, 2015 4:30 pm 
Offline
Auctor Aeternitatum
User avatar

Joined: Wed Apr 22, 2009 1:07 pm
Posts: 7136
Location: The city of Spires
teep wrote:
Ah, thanks! I know quotes 1 and 3 and always thought that quote 3 refers to the loremaster rule
as in 'I'm a slaan-teclis-know-it-all', not so much to the HE character.

It does indeed refer to teclis-know-it-all type characters. I included it more out of completeness and as an example that casters who follow a different logic for obtaining spells can still lose them.

Darbog wrote:
He can still channel dice but can't cast spells. With that in mind, can he still dispel?
Would be nice to be able to use Book of Hoeth even when something like this happens.

I think yes, but don't have the faq on hand to check. To dispell you need to be a mage. You don't stop being a mage when you lose your levels.

Rod

_________________
Eirik wrote:
Please try to remember that, no matter how 'official' the source seems, rumours are basically just a dictionary combined with a random number generator

For Nagarythe: Come to the dark side.
PS: Bring cookies!

Check out my plog
Painting progress, done/in progress/in box: 167/33/91


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 5 posts ] 

All times are UTC


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: Google [Bot] and 1 guest


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum

Search for:
Jump to:  
cron
Powered by phpBB® Forum Software © phpBB Group