Ulthuan

Ulthuan, Home of the Asur
It is currently Sat Feb 16, 2019 7:33 pm

All times are UTC




Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 7 posts ] 
Author Message
PostPosted: Sat Jul 11, 2015 6:59 am 
Offline
User avatar

Joined: Fri Aug 30, 2013 6:26 am
Posts: 124
Location: Western Europe
Hey,
The faq states that stomps in challenges can only be directed at the challenged enemy.
If my noble on a griffon is challenged by a character in a unit, can I still thunderstomp the unit? The griffon itself is not in the challenge.


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
PostPosted: Sat Jul 11, 2015 8:32 am 
Offline
Auctor Aeternitatum
User avatar

Joined: Wed Apr 22, 2009 1:07 pm
Posts: 6986
Location: The city of Spires
Actually, the griffon is in the challenge. So the griffon gets to thunderstomp (and attack!) but he will stomp and attack the character you are in a challenge with.

Note: If the character dies before the griffon attacks or stomps then those attacks are wasted.

Rod

_________________
Eirik wrote:
Please try to remember that, no matter how 'official' the source seems, rumours are basically just a dictionary combined with a random number generator

For Nagarythe: Come to the dark side.
PS: Bring cookies!

Check out my plog
Painting progress, done/in progress/in box: 167/33/91


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
PostPosted: Sat Jul 11, 2015 9:02 am 
Offline
User avatar

Joined: Fri Aug 30, 2013 6:26 am
Posts: 124
Location: Western Europe
A thunderstomp is against the unit and the griffon itself cannot be challenged, doesn't that mean that they are separate?


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
PostPosted: Sat Jul 11, 2015 10:20 am 
Offline
Green Istari

Joined: Sat Sep 13, 2008 11:26 am
Posts: 12371
Location: Otherworld
What Rod said.

'Challenges and Mounts' on page 103. There is a bit near the end where it describes the Mount continuing to fight in the challenge which seems pretty clear to me. It also states that the Mount's attacks must be directed at the enemy character or their Mount and Stomps (thus Thunderstomps) are defined on page 76 as a kind of close combat attack. This is further clarified in the rulebook FAQ.

In and of itself, a character is a unit (page 5), though when it joins another unit a Combined Unit results (pg 99). A Griffon in a challenge is still Thunderstomping a unit, whether that is an Infantry character in a challenge or the unit as a whole.

Strangely though, I can't see where the rules describe how to split the effect of Stomps against a combined unit (assuming no challenge).

_________________
A New Blog (Orcs and Goblins)
viewtopic.php?f=5&t=70550
Cavalry Prince Reloaded
viewtopic.php?f=80&t=70001


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
PostPosted: Sat Jul 11, 2015 10:41 am 
Offline
User avatar

Joined: Fri Aug 30, 2013 6:26 am
Posts: 124
Location: Western Europe
Clear to me, thanks!


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
PostPosted: Sat Jul 11, 2015 10:59 am 
Offline
Green Istari

Joined: Sat Sep 13, 2008 11:26 am
Posts: 12371
Location: Otherworld
We aim to please!

:)

_________________
A New Blog (Orcs and Goblins)
viewtopic.php?f=5&t=70550
Cavalry Prince Reloaded
viewtopic.php?f=80&t=70001


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
PostPosted: Sun Jul 12, 2015 2:00 pm 
Offline
User avatar

Joined: Thu Mar 24, 2011 2:47 am
Posts: 3550
Location: PA, USA
Just make sure to check the stuff on initiative order as if you kill the challenger at a higher initiative you don't get the stomps and this might affect overkill, etc. It's a good tactic v monsters to break them using combat results with a large ish unit.


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 7 posts ] 

All times are UTC


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum

Search for:
Jump to:  
Powered by phpBB® Forum Software © phpBB Group