Ulthuan

Ulthuan, Home of the Asur
It is currently Sat Feb 16, 2019 7:48 pm

All times are UTC




Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 7 posts ] 
Author Message
 Post subject: Lothren Sea Helm
PostPosted: Fri Apr 24, 2015 8:59 pm 
Offline

Joined: Thu Mar 12, 2015 8:05 pm
Posts: 22
Can someone clarify the rules for this character please, for example if my unit of say 20 white lions with level 4 in 7x3 formation is charged, can I reform to a 3x7 formation, thus placing my level 4 out of the front rank?

I am mindful that in reforms you cant place a character out of combat if he was in combat, but can someone clarify when the reform takes place, before the charge hits or after.

Hope this makes sense.

_________________
"From darkness I cry for you
the tears you shed for us are the blood of Elven kind
O Isha, Here I stand on the last shore
a sword in my hand
Ulthuan shall never fall!"


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
 Post subject: Re: Lothren Sea Helm
PostPosted: Fri Apr 24, 2015 11:13 pm 
Offline

Joined: Wed Apr 30, 2014 10:10 pm
Posts: 35
Baza wrote:
I am mindful that in reforms you cant place a character out of combat if he was in combat, but can someone clarify when the reform takes place, before the charge hits or after.

The army book says that you can attempt to make a reform after your opponent has moved his all of his charging units.


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
 Post subject: Re: Lothren Sea Helm
PostPosted: Sat Apr 25, 2015 6:36 pm 
Offline

Joined: Tue Aug 23, 2011 7:26 pm
Posts: 698
Location: Portland, Oregon, USA
The Sea Helm's Naval Discipline rule states: If a unit... is successfully charged during the Movement phase, it can attempt to change formation immediately after your opponent has moved all of his charging units. To do so, the unit must take a Leadership test. If the test is passed, the Sea Helm's unit can immediately make a combat reform as described on page 55 of the Warhammer rulebook.

Page 55 of the rulebook states: The most common usage of a combat reform is to allow the unit to turn to face its enemy (if attacked in the flank or rear), although it can also be used to bring more models into the fight by increasing the unit's frontage. There is one special restriction on a combat reform, however - it cannot be used to get a model (friend or foe) out of base contact with the enemy if it was in contact before the reform was made. The model can be in base contact with a different enemy at the end of the reform if you wish.

So this states that you make the combat reform after charging units have moved, hence they are in contact with you. Then you make the combat reform. If your wizard is in contact prior to the reform, it must remain in contact. Best thing to do is to make the frontage so big that the mage is on the one corner or the other of the front rank so that only the corner of his base is touching an enemy, limiting the number of attacks coming at him.

Also note that if you are charged on two or more sides, you cannot make a combat reform.

_________________
thelordcal wrote:
Or he uses his big a$$ banner pole as a great weapon...
wisetiger7 wrote:
That's what she said.
Asurion Whitestar wrote:
I would normally delete such an off topic post, but this is just too good. Classic..!! :)


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
 Post subject: Re: Lothren Sea Helm
PostPosted: Sun Apr 26, 2015 4:20 pm 
Offline
User avatar

Joined: Thu Mar 24, 2011 2:47 am
Posts: 3550
Location: PA, USA
The others are correct. You can move the unit around but not the characters out of B2B. I would start the WL in 3x7 and then have the mage in the 2nd rank. Then when you get charged you can go wide and put him out of harms way on the flank.


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
 Post subject: Re: Lothren Sea Helm
PostPosted: Sun Apr 26, 2015 5:43 pm 
Offline
Green Istari

Joined: Sat Sep 13, 2008 11:26 am
Posts: 12373
Location: Otherworld
You could also move the mage (and the Sea Helm for that matter) out of contact with a powerful enemy character this way.

_________________
A New Blog (Orcs and Goblins)
viewtopic.php?f=5&t=70550
Cavalry Prince Reloaded
viewtopic.php?f=80&t=70001


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
 Post subject: Re: Lothren Sea Helm
PostPosted: Thu Apr 30, 2015 6:46 am 
Offline
User avatar

Joined: Mon Apr 07, 2014 6:53 pm
Posts: 63
So conga line unit (WL) after naval discipline reform is illegal?


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
 Post subject: Re: Lothren Sea Helm
PostPosted: Mon May 04, 2015 1:48 am 
Offline

Joined: Sun Sep 13, 2009 4:39 pm
Posts: 2062
Location: Cathy
Count wrote:
So conga line unit (WL) after naval discipline reform is illegal?


yes

_________________
ETC WHFB Team Singapore
2014 - Chaos Dwarfs & Most Favoured Enemy
2015 - High Elves & Top HE

T9A
Highborn Elves - Army Book Committee
Balancing Board
Highborn Elves - ex-Army Support


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 7 posts ] 

All times are UTC


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum

Search for:
Jump to:  
Powered by phpBB® Forum Software © phpBB Group