Ulthuan

Ulthuan, Home of the Asur
It is currently Mon Jul 22, 2019 12:51 pm

All times are UTC




Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 15 posts ] 
Author Message
 Post subject: Alith and piecing ranks
PostPosted: Thu Apr 09, 2015 6:18 pm 
Offline

Joined: Sat Apr 20, 2013 6:00 pm
Posts: 137
Hi
I was wondering how the piercing ranks worked for Alith since he now shoots together with the rest of the unit.
Let's say that he shoots together with a reaver bow noble against a unit of Skullcrusher. The reaver bow delivers 1 wound after saves and Alith delivers 2. Is the bolt from alith's bow then allowed to pierce the rank?


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
PostPosted: Thu Apr 09, 2015 7:00 pm 
Offline
User avatar

Joined: Thu Mar 24, 2011 2:47 am
Posts: 3550
Location: PA, USA
Gut feeling is yes but I'll get back to you later when I have my rulebook handy.


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
PostPosted: Thu Apr 09, 2015 7:05 pm 
Offline

Joined: Thu Apr 03, 2008 12:42 am
Posts: 412
I don't think shooting is simultaneous like combat, it happens as it happens except that all models in a unit needs to shoot before another does. You could ping off a wound with the reaver bow, then another one with shadow warriors, then a third with Alith. Then his bolt goes on and does another wound, and then you hit with an RBT and do two more and pierce another rank, etc. Unless I'm rolling the dice, in which case no wounds would be dealt.


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
PostPosted: Fri Apr 10, 2015 1:06 am 
Offline

Joined: Sun Sep 13, 2009 4:39 pm
Posts: 2062
Location: Cathy
theviking wrote:
I don't think shooting is simultaneous like combat, it happens as it happens except that all models in a unit needs to shoot before another does. You could ping off a wound with the reaver bow, then another one with shadow warriors, then a third with Alith. Then his bolt goes on and does another wound, and then you hit with an RBT and do two more and pierce another rank, etc. Unless I'm rolling the dice, in which case no wounds would be dealt.


Shooting from the same unit is simultaneous, it is not sequential. Shooting RBT then say shadow warriors with noble reaver bow with alith is fine this part is sequential.

Dragon fire wrote:
Hi
I was wondering how the piercing ranks worked for Alith since he now shoots together with the rest of the unit.
Let's say that he shoots together with a reaver bow noble against a unit of Skullcrusher. The reaver bow delivers 1 wound after saves and Alith delivers 2. Is the bolt from alith's bow then allowed to pierce the rank?


yes it would pierce rank as it is a bolt thrower type weapon. The question is how do you allocate the wounds since shooting from the same unit is simultaneous. I would probably agree that you can allocate the wounds sequentially but i'm not 100% sure.

_________________
ETC WHFB Team Singapore
2014 - Chaos Dwarfs & Most Favoured Enemy
2015 - High Elves & Top HE

T9A
Highborn Elves - Army Book Committee
Balancing Board
Highborn Elves - ex-Army Support


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
PostPosted: Fri Apr 10, 2015 2:52 am 
Offline

Joined: Thu Apr 03, 2008 12:42 am
Posts: 412
pk-ng wrote:
Shooting from the same unit is simultaneous, it is not sequential.

I stand corrected.

pk-ng wrote:
yes it would pierce rank as it is a bolt thrower type weapon. The question is how do you allocate the wounds since shooting from the same unit is simultaneous. I would probably agree that you can allocate the wounds sequentially but i'm not 100% sure.

Reading through the shooting section again just now makes me think the initial wounds are all applied at the same time. So we tally up the wounds and remove casualties from the unit. Assuming we did enough wounds to take off a model Alith's shot will continue into the next rank, and so forth until it stops killing models.


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
PostPosted: Fri Apr 10, 2015 7:46 am 
Offline
User avatar

Joined: Mon Apr 07, 2014 6:53 pm
Posts: 63
Maybe randomize wounds from different sources.


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
PostPosted: Fri Apr 10, 2015 10:41 am 
Offline

Joined: Sun Oct 03, 2010 7:19 pm
Posts: 378
As the shooting from the unit is simultaneous, I believe you get to choose the order that you resolve it as it's your turn.

Refer to the sequencing rule on, I think, page 10.

So if you chose to have Alith's shot resolved last, then it would pass through to the next rank.


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
PostPosted: Fri Apr 10, 2015 11:35 am 
Offline

Joined: Wed Jan 29, 2014 7:30 am
Posts: 263
Can he also shoot through ranks of skirmishers?


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
PostPosted: Sat Apr 11, 2015 4:02 am 
Offline

Joined: Thu Apr 03, 2008 12:42 am
Posts: 412
Skirmishers don't have ranks.


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
PostPosted: Sat Apr 11, 2015 7:35 am 
Offline
User avatar

Joined: Mon Apr 07, 2014 6:53 pm
Posts: 63
BTW in part "Skirmishers and charging" several times mentioned skirmisher ranks. They have 0 ranks for combat resolution purposes.
But do they have files? :)


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
PostPosted: Sat Apr 11, 2015 4:19 pm 
Offline

Joined: Thu Apr 03, 2008 12:42 am
Posts: 412
Sort of. Over in the light troops paragraph it says skirmishers always count as having 0 ranks. Logically, (lol, this is GW we are talking about here) if there are 0 ranks there can't be any files either. The models are physically arranged in ranks and files like any other warhammer unit, but for game purposes they are considered to have 0 ranks (and presumably 0 files).


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
PostPosted: Mon Apr 13, 2015 1:06 am 
Offline

Joined: Sun Sep 13, 2009 4:39 pm
Posts: 2062
Location: Cathy
theviking wrote:
Sort of. Over in the light troops paragraph it says skirmishers always count as having 0 ranks. Logically, (lol, this is GW we are talking about here) if there are 0 ranks there can't be any files either. The models are physically arranged in ranks and files like any other warhammer unit, but for game purposes they are considered to have 0 ranks (and presumably 0 files).

+1

_________________
ETC WHFB Team Singapore
2014 - Chaos Dwarfs & Most Favoured Enemy
2015 - High Elves & Top HE

T9A
Highborn Elves - Army Book Committee
Balancing Board
Highborn Elves - ex-Army Support


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
PostPosted: Tue Apr 14, 2015 8:52 am 
Offline

Joined: Wed Jan 29, 2014 7:30 am
Posts: 263
Quote:
Sort of. Over in the light troops paragraph it says skirmishers always count as having 0 ranks. Logically, (lol, this is GW we are talking about here) if there are 0 ranks there can't be any files either. The models are physically arranged in ranks and files like any other warhammer unit, but for game purposes they are considered to have 0 ranks (and presumably 0 files).


I actually just found this in the warhammer rulebook FAQ from GW:

- Page 77 – Special Rules, Skirmishers, Light Troops. Change “[...]zero ranks[...]” to “[...]zero ranks in combat[...]”.

So it would seem that you can pierce through ranks of skirmishers.


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
PostPosted: Tue Apr 14, 2015 9:50 am 
Offline
User avatar

Joined: Mon Apr 07, 2014 6:53 pm
Posts: 63
If skirmishers have 0 ranks then they should not be able to fight from second and third (for HE) ranks. Probably they cant even fight in melee at all because they have 0 ranks and have no frist rank :lol:


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
PostPosted: Wed Apr 15, 2015 2:40 am 
Offline
User avatar

Joined: Mon Feb 02, 2015 12:27 pm
Posts: 96
Location: Sydney, Australia
Count wrote:
If skirmishers have 0 ranks then they should not be able to fight from second and third (for HE) ranks. Probably they cant even fight in melee at all because they have 0 ranks and have no frist rank :lol:


:lol: RAW taken to its logical extreme

_________________
RM's High Elf Plog
High Elves: 9 Painted, 112 Remaining


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 15 posts ] 

All times are UTC


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 2 guests


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum

Search for:
Jump to:  
cron
Powered by phpBB® Forum Software © phpBB Group