Ulthuan

Ulthuan, Home of the Asur
It is currently Thu Apr 18, 2019 3:34 pm

All times are UTC




Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 6 posts ] 
Author Message
PostPosted: Thu Apr 09, 2015 2:53 am 
Offline
User avatar

Joined: Mon Feb 02, 2015 12:27 pm
Posts: 96
Location: Sydney, Australia
I presume so, seeing as that happens during remaining moves. Then again, if a character is part of a unit, can he be targeted by the spell as an individual? Can a mage target himself with walk between worlds to get himself out of a hairy situation?

_________________
RM's High Elf Plog
High Elves: 9 Painted, 112 Remaining


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
PostPosted: Thu Apr 09, 2015 6:02 am 
Offline
User avatar

Joined: Fri Jan 21, 2011 7:27 am
Posts: 747
Location: Winterfell
good question. Just out of my head I would say no you cannot, but this is naturally similar question that are you allowed to do reform, enter building etc.

I think you cannot separately target the character in unit as per se (so that is not possible since it targets entire unit) but then when the unit has 10 inch allowance to move why wouldn't you be able use that movement to move characters out of the unit, and even move the unit the full 10 inch. This would lead up one niche tactic for high magic. ;)

_________________
High Elves since Aug 2010: Tot /W / L / D - 100 / 75 / 23 / 2
Tomb Kings since Sep 2013:Tot / W / L / D - 31 / 18 / 12 / 1

Chronicles of Loriel's Glory and Shame


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
PostPosted: Thu Apr 09, 2015 7:39 am 
Offline
Auctor Aeternitatum
User avatar

Joined: Wed Apr 22, 2009 1:07 pm
Posts: 7076
Location: The city of Spires
I would say no.

WBW targets the unit as a whole. Which then means that the unit as a whole moves. The character as an individual isn't the target of the spell.

Rod

_________________
Eirik wrote:
Please try to remember that, no matter how 'official' the source seems, rumours are basically just a dictionary combined with a random number generator

For Nagarythe: Come to the dark side.
PS: Bring cookies!

Check out my plog
Painting progress, done/in progress/in box: 167/33/91


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
PostPosted: Thu Apr 09, 2015 9:16 am 
Offline

Joined: Sun Sep 13, 2009 4:39 pm
Posts: 2062
Location: Cathy
"the spell targets a single unengaged unit"
so the answer is: no you cannot target a character in a unit.
If the mage is by himself and not in a unit they you can target him.

_________________
ETC WHFB Team Singapore
2014 - Chaos Dwarfs & Most Favoured Enemy
2015 - High Elves & Top HE

T9A
Highborn Elves - Army Book Committee
Balancing Board
Highborn Elves - ex-Army Support


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
PostPosted: Thu Apr 09, 2015 9:31 am 
Offline
User avatar

Joined: Fri Jan 21, 2011 7:27 am
Posts: 747
Location: Winterfell
That is clear that spell cannot target characters that have joined unit. But that is not the rule issue here. The thing is that how do we consider what does

Walk between Worlds
"the target can immediately move up to 10'' as if it were remaining moves sub phase"

+

Page 101 on BRB - Leaving unit
"Alternatively, a character can leave his unit during the Remaining Moves sub-phase by moving away from the unit before that unit makes its own move. If the unit cannot move in this phase for any reason, the character may not leave the unit"

interract with each other. If players / tournament would allow reform done with this move (and other similar spells like dance macabre / desert winds) there shouldn't be any reason why this trick coudn't be done also.

_________________
High Elves since Aug 2010: Tot /W / L / D - 100 / 75 / 23 / 2
Tomb Kings since Sep 2013:Tot / W / L / D - 31 / 18 / 12 / 1

Chronicles of Loriel's Glory and Shame


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
PostPosted: Fri Apr 10, 2015 12:57 am 
Offline

Joined: Sun Sep 13, 2009 4:39 pm
Posts: 2062
Location: Cathy
Loriel wrote:
That is clear that spell cannot target characters that have joined unit. But that is not the rule issue here. The thing is that how do we consider what does

Walk between Worlds
"the target can immediately move up to 10'' as if it were remaining moves sub phase"

+

Page 101 on BRB - Leaving unit
"Alternatively, a character can leave his unit during the Remaining Moves sub-phase by moving away from the unit before that unit makes its own move. If the unit cannot move in this phase for any reason, the character may not leave the unit"

interract with each other. If players / tournament would allow reform done with this move (and other similar spells like dance macabre / desert winds) there shouldn't be any reason why this trick coudn't be done also.


Interesting. I know for a fact that ETC doesn't allow reform for WBW. Not sure about other tournaments.

_________________
ETC WHFB Team Singapore
2014 - Chaos Dwarfs & Most Favoured Enemy
2015 - High Elves & Top HE

T9A
Highborn Elves - Army Book Committee
Balancing Board
Highborn Elves - ex-Army Support


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 6 posts ] 

All times are UTC


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 2 guests


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum

Search for:
Jump to:  
cron
Powered by phpBB® Forum Software © phpBB Group