Ulthuan

Ulthuan, Home of the Asur
It is currently Sat Feb 16, 2019 7:28 pm

All times are UTC




Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 11 posts ] 
Author Message
PostPosted: Fri Apr 03, 2015 7:42 am 
Offline

Joined: Sun Mar 29, 2015 4:04 pm
Posts: 13
Here is a situation an eagle retreated 10" a unit charging has caught up to 18", when attacking it was only 7 away so does that mean that the eagle is dead. Mentioning the fact there is a cavalry 4" behind the eagle does that mean that the eagle has safely flees and the charging unit and the calvry have come to a close combat?


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
PostPosted: Fri Apr 03, 2015 8:27 am 
Offline
User avatar

Joined: Mon Mar 02, 2015 3:23 pm
Posts: 104
Location: Norfolk
I beleive that the fleeing unit is destroyed and the charging unit gets to take a leadership test. If they pass they get a free reform and if they fail, well, they dont get a free reform.

In either case the movement phase has ended for that unit.

Source - BRB P23 - Charging a fleeing Enemy

_________________
Penny
aka Nápoldë Melwasúl

http://www.ladyphoenix.co.uk

Gliitering Host of Nápoldë Melwasúl
Under Construction


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
PostPosted: Fri Apr 03, 2015 8:34 am 
Offline
User avatar

Joined: Mon Mar 02, 2015 3:23 pm
Posts: 104
Location: Norfolk
Sorry, just seen the bit about cavalry too, so I assume your eagle would run through another unit?

P25 of the BRB - Move Fleeing Units, says

"Fleeing units move through other units (friend or foe) and impassable terrain, as they are assumed to run around the obstacle .......
If the flee move would result in the fleeing unit ending up on top of the unit or within 1" ...then it carries on fleeingunit the unit is passed."

However, that raises a question from me.

Are the chargers subject to the same rules when chasing that the fleeing unit is? i.e. it passes through obstacles and other units?

_________________
Penny
aka Nápoldë Melwasúl

http://www.ladyphoenix.co.uk

Gliitering Host of Nápoldë Melwasúl
Under Construction


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
PostPosted: Fri Apr 03, 2015 10:31 am 
Offline

Joined: Sun Mar 29, 2015 4:04 pm
Posts: 13
However, that raises a question from me.
That was the question raised when I played with friend of mine and we ended up removing the eagle and the enemy unit stopped there though we have spent a good half hour the book doesn't cover all the details on that topic


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
PostPosted: Fri Apr 03, 2015 11:25 am 
Offline

Joined: Sat Jun 01, 2013 1:22 pm
Posts: 70
Alright, so I need some clarification here.

As far as I understand, the situation is: Eagle is being charged, and has a friendly cavalry unit behind it. Eagle declares "Flee" as a charge reaction, and now flees 10". So far, this seems pretty clear.

Now, the part I need clarification. When your eagle landed after it's flee move, can your opponent (the unit which charged) still complete it's charge move according to the rules? (I.E. Has enough range after rolling, and can make the move with max 1 wheel?). If yes, then the eagle is destroyed.

If again, the charging unit cannot do this (for example, the cavalry unit is blocking), then your eagle is safe. Your opponent may try to re-direct the charge (Pass a leadership test) into another unit.


So the question here is: How were the unit positioned? Could your opponent make the charge move with 1 wheel? And most importantly when you say retreat, do you mean "flee" as charge reaction, or do you mean "flee" as in broken from combat?


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
PostPosted: Fri Apr 03, 2015 1:51 pm 
Offline

Joined: Sun Mar 29, 2015 4:04 pm
Posts: 13
Ceridan wrote:
Alright, so I need some clarification here.

As far as I understand, the situation is: Eagle is being charged, and has a friendly cavalry unit behind it. Eagle declares "Flee" as a charge reaction, and now flees 10". So far, this seems pretty clear.

Now, the part I need clarification. When your eagle landed after it's flee move, can your opponent (the unit which charged) still complete it's charge move according to the rules? (I.E. Has enough range after rolling, and can make the move with max 1 wheel?). If yes, then the eagle is destroyed.

If again, the charging unit cannot do this (for example, the cavalry unit is blocking), then your eagle is safe. Your opponent may try to re-direct the charge (Pass a leadership test) into another unit.


So the question here is: How were the unit positioned? Could your opponent make the charge move with 1 wheel? And most importantly when you say retreat, do you mean "flee" as charge reaction, or do you mean "flee" as in broken from combat?


Flee as in reaction fleeing
The unit could have charged me by rolling 2 it has rolled 10 it is also a calvry unit. The friendly calvry was only 5 behind the eagle.


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
PostPosted: Fri Apr 03, 2015 2:22 pm 
Offline
User avatar

Joined: Mon Mar 02, 2015 3:23 pm
Posts: 104
Location: Norfolk
Ive had a good think and this is my notes

While the turn is spolit into 4 distinct sections, in reality your turn and the opponents turn is actually happening all at once. So, if we could animate the game you would see troops charging, units parrying, wizards casting spells etc etc

So, with that in mind, and given that a fleeing unit may flee through any other unit, as long as they dont finish in the unit then so can the chargers.

In "reality" what this would represent is an eagle flying through some cavalry shouting in some eagle language "Run for your lives", an enemy unit running through the unit chasing shouting "Come here ya bar steward" and the the unit thats being run through saying "Sorry mate, Id give you a hand but Ive got my own problems right now to deal with"

That is, unless there is a rule that says otherwise.

_________________
Penny
aka Nápoldë Melwasúl

http://www.ladyphoenix.co.uk

Gliitering Host of Nápoldë Melwasúl
Under Construction


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
PostPosted: Fri Apr 03, 2015 3:16 pm 
Offline

Joined: Wed Nov 04, 2009 2:06 am
Posts: 24
Ceridian hit the nail on the head. You have to be able to complete the charge according to the normal rules after moving the fleeing unit. At this point we simply revert to the rules for charging a unit thatis Holding against the charge.since you cannot move through enemies during a charge without charging them you would have to instead fail the charge(move normal allowance, stopping 1" from enemy troops) or redirect the charge to the cav unit.


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
PostPosted: Fri Apr 03, 2015 3:23 pm 
Offline
User avatar

Joined: Thu Mar 27, 2014 5:56 am
Posts: 95
I think the "Charging for Dummies" tactics article covers this.

http://www.ulthuan.net/forum/viewtopic.php?f=75&t=61728


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
PostPosted: Fri Apr 03, 2015 8:02 pm 
Offline
Green Istari

Joined: Sat Sep 13, 2008 11:26 am
Posts: 12371
Location: Otherworld
What Ceridan said.

_________________
A New Blog (Orcs and Goblins)
viewtopic.php?f=5&t=70550
Cavalry Prince Reloaded
viewtopic.php?f=80&t=70001


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
PostPosted: Wed Apr 08, 2015 1:22 am 
Offline

Joined: Sun Sep 13, 2009 4:39 pm
Posts: 2062
Location: Cathy
aquietfrog wrote:
I think the "Charging for Dummies" tactics article covers this.

http://www.ulthuan.net/forum/viewtopic.php?f=75&t=61728

what this guy has said :)

_________________
ETC WHFB Team Singapore
2014 - Chaos Dwarfs & Most Favoured Enemy
2015 - High Elves & Top HE

T9A
Highborn Elves - Army Book Committee
Balancing Board
Highborn Elves - ex-Army Support


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 11 posts ] 

All times are UTC


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 2 guests


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum

Search for:
Jump to:  
Powered by phpBB® Forum Software © phpBB Group