Sisters of the Thorn

Ask any rules specific questions here
PenguinWarlord

Sisters of the Thorn

#1 Post by PenguinWarlord »

Hey guys, I have been part of the forum for awhile, but this is my firdt time posting. I started playing High Elves about 8 months ago. Anyways, with the new Khaine magic, would this mean, that if the Sisters of the Thorn successfully got off Transformation of Kadon, that whatever beast they transformed into would then have a 4+ ward save carried over from their special rules?
Ladril Caledor

Re: Sisters of the Thorn

#2 Post by Ladril Caledor »

I don't think so. The spell doesn't specify that special rules carry over, only wounds. The beast that they transform into has its own special rules.

Also you wrote '...whatever beast they transformed into...", which makes me think you would transfer the whole unit into a beast. My interpretation of the rules is that, as you nominate one Sister as the 'caster' for each spell you use, only one Sister would transform, and the others would remain Sisters.

This is potentially pretty awesome, as the big monster base would mean additional ranks and casting bonus, and the Life magic of the Sisters could heal the monster as it ravaged your opponents.

I have a follow up question: If the beast took five wounds and then was dispelled back to being a Sister, how do those 5 wounds 'carry over'? Would you have to remove 5 Sisters? Would each cavalry model count as 2 wounds (like with Regrowth)? Or would you just remove the one Sister that transformed?
PenguinWarlord

#3 Post by PenguinWarlord »

I just checked the FAQ in the main rules, and it appears that special rules do not stop working. At least that's how I had read it. I could see the case for only one to transform, however, the that I interpret it, the unit together counts as one wizard, and would therefore transform together, but that's just how I had read it.
Prince of Spires
Auctor Aeternitatum

#4 Post by Prince of Spires »