Ulthuan

Ulthuan, Home of the Asur
It is currently Wed Jan 16, 2019 7:18 pm

All times are UTC




Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 40 posts ]  Go to page Previous  1, 2
Author Message
PostPosted: Wed Jul 03, 2013 6:28 pm 
Offline
User avatar

Joined: Tue Dec 19, 2006 6:18 am
Posts: 560
Location: Tasmania, Australia
Can the Star Lance be used by Mounted unit Champions? eg: Drakemaster

_________________
2008-2013 Wins:Draws:Losses
7th Ed High Elves 18 : 9 : 4 Bargle Con I, Best General, 3rd Overall
New High Elf Book 16 : 1 : 5 Bargle Con II, 2nd Overall, Conviction 2nd Overall & Best Sportsman

MSU List: viewtopic.php?f=67&t=48650


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
PostPosted: Wed Jul 17, 2013 6:23 pm 
Offline
User avatar

Joined: Wed Jun 29, 2005 5:03 pm
Posts: 138
Location: Johnson City, TN
Does a unit with the Banner of the World Dragon get to take it's 2+ Ward Save against wounds caused by Dangerous Terrain Tests while under the effects of the Curse of Anraheir?


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
PostPosted: Mon Jul 29, 2013 1:22 am 
Offline

Joined: Sun Sep 13, 2009 4:39 pm
Posts: 2062
Location: Cathy
GhostWarrior wrote:
Does a unit with the Banner of the World Dragon get to take it's 2+ Ward Save against wounds caused by Dangerous Terrain Tests while under the effects of the Curse of Anraheir?


No. It causes the unit to take a DT test. DT test doesn't do magical attacks/hits

_________________
ETC WHFB Team Singapore
2014 - Chaos Dwarfs & Most Favoured Enemy
2015 - High Elves & Top HE

T9A
Highborn Elves - Army Book Committee
Balancing Board
Highborn Elves - ex-Army Support


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
PostPosted: Mon Jul 29, 2013 4:57 am 
Offline

Joined: Fri Jul 29, 2011 4:34 am
Posts: 18
Do phoenix guard attack first and get rerolls to hit vs white lions or sword masters (who also technically have the ASF rule)?


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
PostPosted: Tue Jan 14, 2014 7:20 pm 
Offline

Joined: Wed Oct 02, 2013 3:38 pm
Posts: 7
Location: Caledor
Just to answer one of the questions on the list:
The Shield of the Merwyrm rule states this: Unless he is fighting with a weapon that has the Requires Two Hands rule, he gets a 4+ Parry Save. Therefor, whatever you are using, you get the save, unless it Requires Two Hands.


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
PostPosted: Fri Jan 17, 2014 2:24 pm 
Offline

Joined: Thu Aug 29, 2013 4:08 pm
Posts: 10
Another question here!

I do not have my HE book at hand so can't quote the rule exactly but i think you'll get my point.
HE mages have a special rule that gives +1 to all casting attempts from the lore of High Magic, I think its called Lileaths Blessing?

If you read it RAW you can interpret it as if you had let say, 2x lvl 1 mages, using random lores as fire and heavens, they would still each add +1 to all casts using high magic, regardless if it's themselves who cast it or someone else. Then you add your archmage lvl4 with high magic, so that he would get 7+ to cast. 3+ (one from each of the casters) and 4+ for his wizard lvls.

IMO this is not what they intended, but intended or not, not everyone agrees and it would be nice to have a ruling on it.


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
PostPosted: Fri Jan 17, 2014 7:17 pm 
Offline
D3niROTCODht01
User avatar

Joined: Thu Jun 27, 2013 1:09 pm
Posts: 1274
Location: Virginia
feedm3 wrote:
Another question here!

I do not have my HE book at hand so can't quote the rule exactly but i think you'll get my point.
HE mages have a special rule that gives +1 to all casting attempts from the lore of High Magic, I think its called Lileaths Blessing?

If you read it RAW you can interpret it as if you had let say, 2x lvl 1 mages, using random lores as fire and heavens, they would still each add +1 to all casts using high magic, regardless if it's themselves who cast it or someone else. Then you add your archmage lvl4 with high magic, so that he would get 7+ to cast. 3+ (one from each of the casters) and 4+ for his wizard lvls.

IMO this is not what they intended, but intended or not, not everyone agrees and it would be nice to have a ruling on it.


It says "Models with this special rule add +1 to all attempts to cast spells from the Lore of High magic" they do not grant +1, they add. Wizards add their wizard level to attempts to cast, but that doesn't carry over to other wizards in the army.

BRB pg 32 "The results are then added together, and then added to the casting Wizard's level to give a casting result." The terminology is consistent with that use in the rule book. So if Lileath's Blessing gives +1 to all High magic casters then by the same token a Level 3 Wizard gives +3 to every caster in your army, which we know is not the case. I do not see a problem here.

_________________
Nox's Painting/Modelling Log

Nox's Battle Report Log


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
PostPosted: Fri Jan 17, 2014 10:57 pm 
Offline

Joined: Tue Aug 23, 2011 7:26 pm
Posts: 698
Location: Portland, Oregon, USA
Domine Nox wrote:
It says "Models with this special rule add +1 to all attempts to cast spells from the Lore of High magic" they do not grant +1, they add. Wizards add their wizard level to attempts to cast, but that doesn't carry over to other wizards in the army.

BRB pg 32 "The results are then added together, and then added to the casting Wizard's level to give a casting result." The terminology is consistent with that use in the rule book. So if Lileath's Blessing gives +1 to all High magic casters then by the same token a Level 3 Wizard gives +3 to every caster in your army, which we know is not the case. I do not see a problem here.
What?! I'm confused. Maybe I'm wrong, but I don't think that's what feedm3 was asking. He wasn't talking about adding +1 from wizard levels to other wizards, just the +1 bonus from Lileath's Blessing. L1 Fire and L1 Heavens grant a L4 High +1 each to cast spells from the Lore of High Magic because of Lileath's Blessing, not their wizard levels. Same if they were both L2s. So the L4 would add +4 for his levels, +1 for Lileath's Blessing that he has, then +1 for each of the L1s for their Lileath's Blessings, totaling in +7 to cast.

There obviously IS a problem because the best of us could not come to a conclusion after 4 pages of discussion, other than GW needs to write a FAQ.
http://www.ulthuan.net/forum/viewtopic.php?f=68&t=50050&hilit=lileath
And if I recall, you actually argued FOR stacking if I'm correct. Which I absolutely agree with you Dom. But people's interpretations of GW's intentions come about and they can't believe the in the rules until clarifications occur through FAQs.
Domine Nox wrote:
That interpretation would certianly give High more credence, and it would explain why so many ETC lists had multiple mages.
Domine Nox wrote:
I would not be surprised if this was intentional. As that would allow High Magic mages to compete against the power dice generation races solely with our lore. Since it doesn't help the Lore Master at all, it would seem to be a valid mechanic and if justified will push me back to trying more High magic centric builds.

_________________
thelordcal wrote:
Or he uses his big a$$ banner pole as a great weapon...
wisetiger7 wrote:
That's what she said.
Asurion Whitestar wrote:
I would normally delete such an off topic post, but this is just too good. Classic..!! :)


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
PostPosted: Sat Jan 18, 2014 12:10 am 
Offline
D3niROTCODht01
User avatar

Joined: Thu Jun 27, 2013 1:09 pm
Posts: 1274
Location: Virginia
I know. I was using an example of the same terminology used elsewhere.

Wizards add their wizard level.
Models with Lileaths Blessing add 1.

They are both additions to casting, and should seemingly then work the same way. Granted in the end that is an interpretation and those count for little these day.

And in point of fact originally I did not support the stacking idea, then as it gained in speculation I did side with the possibility. However I have never played it that way, and have in point of fact fallen in with the non-staxkimg approach.

_________________
Nox's Painting/Modelling Log

Nox's Battle Report Log


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
PostPosted: Thu Jan 30, 2014 1:26 pm 
Offline
User avatar

Joined: Fri Jan 21, 2011 7:27 am
Posts: 731
Location: Winterfell
Here is a list that I feel should be added to compilation list

- Lileath blessing stack or not?
- Shield of Saphery + ironcurse icon (for example, or swordmasters 6+ save vs. shooting) do you only receive +1 to your ward vs. wm/shooting and no 6+ ward. (wording is pretty steep on this one and in RAW it cannot be read anyother way)
- Forbidden rod -> magical attack + BoTWD (not a hard for me to reason that it is, but still to end arguments about the matter)
- Walk between the worlds + Reforming / entering building
- Banner of avelorn + bubble light spells (to get definite answer)
- ASF + ASL vs. ASF (do the attackers get rerolls) to end this rather annoying discussion
- double ASF + ASL (example birona + white lion / swordmasters) or double asl asl asf (executioners + frosthearth phoenix)

_________________
High Elves since Aug 2010: Tot /W / L / D - 100 / 75 / 23 / 2
Tomb Kings since Sep 2013:Tot / W / L / D - 31 / 18 / 12 / 1

Chronicles of Loriel's Glory and Shame


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 40 posts ]  Go to page Previous  1, 2

All times are UTC


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 3 guests


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum

Search for:
Jump to:  
Powered by phpBB® Forum Software © phpBB Group