Brand new to high elves

This forum is for 7th edition WHFB Army lists.

Moderators: The Heralds, The Loremasters

Lothier

Brand new to high elves

#1 Post by Lothier »

Hey all, just started playing high elves and have religiously scrolled over all the posts I can get my grubby little clicking fingers on. I want to create a magic heavy army with plenty of dispell dice (I will be playing against a LOT of VC) and enough ASF greatswords to counter close combatants getting close.

I'm brand new to fantasy, I've officially been through the rulebook four times, and it reminds me alot of 40k 4th edition. I've read that lists including Teclis are advised to not include mages, but I haven't produced much thought as to what to replace my current mages with. I've only bought two sets of archers to begin building my force, and any advice on the following list would be HUGELY appreciated so I know which direction to go in with my future purchases! :)

Lord: 475
Teclis- 475

Heroes: 510
Mage- 185
-Lv 2. Seer Staff, Power Stone

Mage- 185
-Lv 2. Silver Wand, Ring of Fury

Korhil-140

Core: 220
Archers (10 strong)- 110
Archers (10 strong)- 110

Special: 647

Sword Masters of Hoeth (7 strong)- 105

Sword Masters of Hoeth (7 strong)- 105

Sword Masters of Hoeth (7 Strong)- 105

Phoenix Guard (18 strong)- 332
-Banner of Sorcery

Dragon Princes of Caledor (5 strong)-150

Rare: 200
Repeater Bolt Thrower- 100

Thoughts- Teclis and korhil sit with the PG and just be immune to stuff, if they get charged then swordmasters or the DP run in and bring some hurt. Mages hang with archers or bolt throwers (to my understanding, mages with bolt throwers get the 360 visibility arc?) I know I lack march blockers, but I'm not entirely certain I need them with as mean of close combattants as the sword masters. I figure howling wind can help keep them alive long enough to see the close combat portion of the game. Slap my wrists if I'm wrong.