New to Warhammer Fantasy...Need Advice

Place to discuss anything related to tabletop wargaming that isn't covered by the other forums.

Moderators: The Heralds, The Loremasters

Kimahri

New to Warhammer Fantasy...Need Advice

#1 Post by Kimahri »

Hey all,

Like the subject says I am new to Fantasy. I play 40k (Tyranids and Eldar), but now want to make the leap into fantasy. I have been trying for over a year to convince my girlfriend to play 40k with me to no avail. We stopped by a game store the other day so I could pick up some stuff for my Eldar. Well long story short my GF looks at a Wood Elves book and falls in love. So I bought it for her along with some Sisters of the Thorn. I spent the next few days looking over the various armies in fantasy to see what I like. And I'm sold on the High Elves. A few questions for y'all 1.) I'd like to get some more Wood Elves for the GF and have no idea where to start with that 2.) I dont have the High Elves army book yet as I live in the boonies and my nearest game store is 60 miles away, so I know very little about them other than some of their fluff (and that I think they look cool). I plan to pick it up this weekend but would also like to pick up some models at the same time so we can get gaming quickly, so I need some suggestions for that. 3.) I've seen the starter box that has the High Elves in it. Would that be a good idea to grab? I dont know anyone else who plays fantasy let alone a Skaven player...so I guess I would be stuck with those?

Anyways I appreciate the help and I look forward to learning more!

Thank you!
John Rainbow

Re: New to Warhammer Fantasy...Need Advice

#2 Post by John Rainbow »

Hey Kimahri! Welcome to the forum. Its good to see some new players joining in and you have some really valid questions.